Articles of Incorporation and
Code of Regulations

As we head into a new era of strengthening the Nature Center’s commitment to our mission and evolve into a more mature organization, we have taken time to review and update our governing policies and procedures. This evolution is vital to reflect best management and governance practices for the success of the modern nonprofit organization.

One such change proposed by the Nature Center is to update the Articles of Incorporation and Code of Regulations (Bylaws) to today’s standards. The Nature Center’s Governance Committee has researched the practices of similar nonprofit organizations and, with guidance from experts, has worked to update these governing documents to better reflect current nonprofit practices and is proposing the following amendments:

  • Changing “Directors” to “Trustees” and “President, Vice-President, and President-Elect” to “Chair, Vice-Chair, and Chair-Elect”;
  • Changing the elections process to allow the Board of Trustees to elect their successors. Since only Board Trustees, and not Members, bear the fiduciary and financial responsibility of the organization, they are best prepared to find others who can fulfill these responsibilities;
  • Adding a Compensation Committee;
    Changing the Executive Director’s title to “President and Chief Executive Officer”;
  • Making the Executive Director an ex officio, non-voting member of the Board and all Board committees, except the Finance & Audit Committee and the Compensation Committee.

Please click to find a complete copy of the proposed amendments to the Articles of Incorporation and Code of Regulations.

Please click to find original versions of the Articles of Incorporation and Code of Regulations.

Members are invited to attend a special Membership meeting at the Nature Center on Wednesday, May 24, 2017, at 5:30 pm. The evening will provide an opportunity to mingle over refreshments among our Board Directors and other Members before being asked to approve these proposed amendments — please note that Members must be present to vote. RSVP is required by contacting Patty Albrecht at 216-321-5935, ext. 232 or Please direct any questions to Kay Carlson, Executive Director at