Staff

Nature Center Leadership

Kay Carlson, President and Chief Executive Officer
(216) 321-5935 ext. 227
carlson@shakerlakes.org
Kay Carlson was appointed as Executive Director of the Nature Center at Shaker Lakes in January 2009, after serving as Interim Executive Director for six months. She was named President and CEO in May 2017. Kay comes to the Center with a vast background of experience and passion for the environment. She has a Master's degree in Environmental Management from Duke University and a Bachelor's degree in Human Ecology from Connecticut College. Prior to joining the Nature Center, she served as the Director of the Lake Erie Watershed Program for The Nature Conservancy's Ohio Chapter, Executive Director of the Cuyahoga River Community Planning Organization, and as a Resource Planning Manager for the State of Florida. Kay was active on the Nature Center's Board of Trustees from 2004-2008, serving on the Executive Committee, Governance Committee, and as Chair of the Natural Resources Management Committee. She currently serves on the national Board of Directors for the Association of Nature Center Administrators (ANCA), the Doan Brook Watershed Partnership Board of Directors, as well as several local Advisory Boards. She is currently active with Cleveland Social Venture Partners and is an alumna of the Cleveland Bridge Builders program, YWCA Momentum Women's Leadership program, and the Institute for Conservation Leadership Executive Director Leadership program. She enjoys sailing, skiing, swimming, walking, yoga and scuba diving. Kay is a native of Cleveland Heights and now resides in Chagrin Falls with her husband, Rick Albaugh.

Patty Albrecht, Membership & Annual Fund Manager
(216) 321-5935, ext. 232
albrecht@shakerlakes.org

Jill Anderson, Visitor & Administrative Services Manager
(216) 321-5935, ext. 234
anderson@shakerlakes.org

Kristina Arthur, Volunteer Coordinator
(216) 321-5935, ext. 237
arthur@shakerlakes.org

Raja Byrnside, Education Director
(216) 321-5935, ext. 243
byrnside@shakerlakes.org

Christi Carlson, Welcome Desk Supervisor
(216) 321-5935, ext. 235
christi@shakerlakes.org

Sarah Cech, Natural Resources Manager
(216) 321-5935, ext. 240
cech@shakerlakes.org

Charles Collier, Building Mainenance Supervisor
(216) 321-5935, ext. 230
collier@shakerlakes.org

Douglas Firman, Director of Finance & Administration
(216) 321-5935, ext. 222
firman@shakerlakes.org

Marcia Fox, Welcome Desk Assistant
(216) 321-5935, ext. 235
fox@shakerlakes.org

Jen Frates, Marketing Coordinator
(216) 321-5935, ext. 242
frates@shakerlakes.org

Lisa Fredrickson, Events Manager
(216) 321-5935, ext. 241
fredrickson@shakerlakes.org

Katrina Heinzen, Part-time Environmental Educator
(216) 321-5935, ext. 233
heinzen@shakerlakes.org

Thomas Hornberger, Facilities Director
(216) 321-5935, ext. 229
hornberger@shakerlakes.org

Lauren Miller, Environmental Educator/Program Specialist
(216) 321-5935, ext. 224
lmiller@shakerlakes.org

Julia Mitchell, Grants Manager
(216)321-5935, ext. 228
mitchell@shakerlakes.org

Lauren Schmidt, Environmental Educator/Camps & Program Coordinator
(216) 321-5935, ext. 226
schmidt@shakerlakes.org

Robert Sikora, Director of Development
(216) 321-5935, ext. 223
sikora@shakerlakes.org

Catie Yonto, Early Childhood Environmental Educator
(216) 321-5935, ext.225
yonto@shakerlakes.org

Tania Younkin, Director of Marketing
(216) 321-5935, ext. 244
younkin@shakerlakes.org

Associate Staff

Penny Allen, Welcome Desk Associate

Shelly Bender, Environmental Educator

Bobby Boyle, Welcome Desk Associate

Matt Chesebrough, Environmental Educator

Mary Jo Ciuni, Environmental Educator

Dahlia Cummings, Weekend Welcome Desk Associate

Laurie Diamond, Welcome Desk Associate

Carl Friess, Welcome Desk Associate

Orin Gubkin, Welcome Desk Associate

Johnetta Harris, Environmental Educator

Mon'trel Myrick, Welcome Desk Associate

Jenny Payne, Welcome Desk Associate

Meri Ruble, Environmental Educator

Joan Spoerl, Environmental Educator

Paul Tsivitse, Environmental Educator